The Endless Set

 

  

The great thing about having a blog is that the owner of the blog can pretty much write whatever he or she wants. With that said, here is a rant…. 

I am at the “local gym” this morning enjoying what is a great training sessions (i.e. I am beating myself into the ground and exhausted while still making great gains) when I notice a middle aged woman position herself in front of the mirrors. She has 5 pound dumbbells in front of a flat bench, and two, preloaded bars behind the bench, each with no more than 15-20 pounds on them. Even though she is working out with what appears to be very light weight, she has, for some reason parked herself in front of the heavy dumbbells. Yes, the same DB’s that I am using.  

Usually this is no big deal, we can all share space. This woman, however, proceeds to stand up, and do a set of curls, overhead presses, up right rows, bent rows, triceps kickbacks, alternating DB curls, squats, lunges, and DB bench press variations, all in one, 6-7 minute long set, without stopping other than to change her hands from the dumbbells to the barbells and back again. I cannot, in the midst of all of this get to the DB’s that I need to use. I am standing there, waiting, and watching in disbelief as this lady does well over 100 reps of all of these exercises, for over 5 minutes at a pop. I don’t think she broke a sweat or strained at all. This was not because she is in good shape, but rather because she could have gotten more of a workout food shopping. Most of the food is heavier than she was lifting.  

When she finally finished, I jumped up and made my way to the Dumbbells. As I was lifting the very heavy dumbbells from the rack, she returned with another set of dumbbells, this time lighter than the set she just used. She gave me a look like I was invading her territory. I gave her a look back like, ‘you have to be kidding me, right?’ Lucky for her, and not so lucky for me, I was doing sets of 4 reps with over 100 pounds in each hand. This means, I was not using that area for more than 25 seconds at a time, and usually had a long space of time before I went back. She however started her marathon set again with lighter weight, pretty much, hogging the entire area that I needed to be in. To make matters worse, she  would turn her body 45 degrees to the left, center and then to the right after quickly changing exercises to see herself in the mirrors from different vantage points. This ensured that she would see me, at least 4 times during that 6 minute set, staring at her with my mouth open, and a “what the hell” look on my face.  

The final straw for me, was when she finally finished her “workout”, I noticed that she was wearing a blue skirt over her spandex shorts. I could care less about what people wear, but this somehow irked me even more.  

Final thoughts on this rant: (a) this workout that skirt lady was doing, did nothing for her other than increase her muscular endurance, burn some calories, and set her up for a few overuse injuries. (b) if the reader ever uses a gym, where other people train, be aware of where you are, and what you are doing, so you don’t set yourself up for a verbal lashing. I was calm enough to use dirty looks only. Others I know would have picked up the 110’s, and stuck their ass in her face while doing deadlifts, and then would have tore her a new one. (c) Don’t ever wear a skirt to the gym. Period! (d) If you think this rant was stupid, and a waste of your time to read it, well you are probably right. Again, my blog, my rant.

One Response to The Endless Set

  1. Jessica says:

    I love your rants. Since I go to a small, women’s only gym (not a Curves) I don’t have this issue much… but every now and then I have to wait for a treadmill or elliptical… there is a gym regular that hogs the treadmill for about 45 minutes at a time; she walks on the treadmill while watching trash tv and drinking Gatorade, all at a grueling 3.5 mph speed. Then there is cell phone girl, who likes to hop on the elliptical and talk on the phone at the same time. It is so frustrating! Makes me wonder why they even bother.

Leave a Reply

