So full of action, my name should be a verb…

I ask many of my clients to fill out a diet log for me so I can see what they are eating. The log does wonders for me as a trainer and for them. Basically it is a huge awareness tool. If you are struggling with your weight, I highly suggest you write down everything you eat and drink for a whole week. You will learn a ton. After doing some thinking, reading and researching, I have come to the conclusion that I need to monitor other things besides diet and basically what happens to my clients the other 23 hours of the day that they are not with me. 

When I train someone, that hour is used to its fullest. My clients or athletes go hard and are always doing what is necessary to reaching their goals. I do not have as much “power” over them in the other hours of the day. I am convinced that success or failure in most people’s fitness goals occurs in the other 23 hours of the day. I play a very small part of it for that one hour. If more clients would take care of business the rest of the day, goals would be reached so much sooner.  

 One of my clients told me this morning that she was tired of doing the “stair climbing” exercises that I was asking her to do. Her explanation was that she climbs up and down stairs all day, chasing her kids. Instead of being disappointed that she didn’t want to do the exercises (what person does when they are exhausted?) I was rather happy that she said that. You see, I feel that people need to be more active during the day. Much more active! This means, when they are through with their training session, they need to plan a day that has movement in it. The more movement, the better. If the goal is to lose fat, people better plan more activity all day long. The hour that a clients puts in at the gym or with their trainer will only go so far. The rest of the day needs to be filled with movement and activity. This does not mean that people need to plan more training sessions, or running at the park. It means that people need to walk more, play more, and yes, chase your kids more around the house.

Whatever it is, move more.  For this reason, I think I am going to ask my clients to start filling out a weekly activity log. I want them to write down everything they do each day, for a week. I really believe that ‘we’ will find out a lot about how much they are moving or not moving and this will indeed show ‘us’ why people are being successful or failing at their fitness goals. People will learn whether they are a mover or a sitter. How much do you move each day? How much do you sit? Make plans to move more. You will see and feel better results if you just move more!!

One Response to So full of action, my name should be a verb…

  1. Ravi says:

    Your point about being active is SPOT ON.

    I was recently moved into a new building at work, on the fourth floor. I make it a point to NEVER use the elevator. In fact, even when carrying a heavy box or tray full of food, I still TAKE THE STAIRS.

    Yet, I amazed at how many people (especially many overweight folks) take the elevator to the second floor! It blows my mind.

    I probably get in 15-20 flights of stairs a day….just going about my business. This is on top of my workout. Over the course of a month, we’re talking about 300-400 flights of stairs! This is like climbing the Empire State Building several times per month!

    On top of it…it is faster than the elevator 🙂

    Nice blog…I am subscribing to your feed!

Leave a Reply

