Training for Life Revisited

A while back, I wrote a little article about the importance of training for life. If you are too lazy to scroll back, here is the link to it. https://kescott45.wordpress.com/2006/09/13/training-for-life/

The purpose of revisiting the topic is simple and it really hit home to me this weekend. Not to bore you with the details, but I had to fly back to Tucson Arizona to finish some projects in my back yard and prep my house for selling. It has been on the market for months and I needed to get some major yard work done. I decided to save some money in labor, fly out, and do it myself. It was also a great excuse to see old friends again.

While in Tucson, I spent three days connecting a retaining wall, weeding, trimming trees, raking, shoveling, and loading bags of debris onto a truck. The blocks for the wall were each about 50 pounds each and very difficult to handle. I worked seven hours on the first day, six hours on day two and about two or three hours on the third day. The trip was a success. I got all of the work done and some. The house and yard looks beautiful. (In case you are wondering what the point of this article, be patient, I am getting to it…)

Normally lifting 50 pound blocks at weird angles numerous times throughout a two or three-day span would be enough to cause some major low back pain, shoulder stiffness and a host of other physical problems. In fact, three years ago when I put the bulk of that same wall up, I was stiff and hurting for days after. However, this time, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that not only did my back feel great, but the rest of my body was pain free as well. Actually, I did not feel any different from any other day (except for the sunburn I got for not wearing sunscreen).

How could this be? I beat myself up in that yard. I lifted heavy blocks, twisted, pulled, pushed, pressed, shoveled, squatted, and numerous combinations of all of those actions as well. However, I wasn’t in pain, I wasn’t even sore.

Well if you haven’t figured it out, all of those motions are things I do three or four times a week when I train. I lift HEAVY things! I squat, press, pull, push, and twist with HEAVY weights. No wonder I wasn’t injured and no wonder why I was able to handle that work and even finish it with time to spare. People ask me why I still train as I do at my age, even though I have no reason left to train. Funny, as long as I am living, I have much to train for. I have life to train for and this past weekend was a prime example of that.

In the past, I didn’t train for life. Just a few short years ago, I trained only to look good. I trained only to feel good. Now I train for life and in the process I feel great and I don’t know if I look any better or not, but I know I looked damn good when I finished that wall and yard work last week.

So again, the next time you are trying to figure out a good reason workout or train, remember this: Life happens everyday and as long as it does, you need to be ready for it!!

Leave a Reply

